Nikki: Thank you for being here, Breck. I’m a little surprised you agreed to join me today.

Breck: You should be. I only agreed because Kami adores you so much. You’re gonna need to make it quick though. We’re working a case that needs my attention.

Nikki: You see the irony of her power over you, right?

Breck: I see you think my downfall is humorous.

Nikki: I wouldn’t have called it a downfall, but okay. So tell us, why are you so stand-offish when it comes to women?

Breck: Have you met your kind? You women play mind games and trick men into doing things they wouldn’t normally do. This interview for example. I play the political game when needed for work, but to be open to any question you ask… That’s all on Kami.

Nikki: It’s funny. Your words are disdainful, but your tone is gentle and humored. You don’t mind being here as much as you claim. And with Ava and Kieralyn in your daily life…

Breck: There’s no escaping smart-mouthed women. Just keep telling yourself I enjoy it and as your next question?

Nikki: So be it, though my next question is from one of those women in your life. Did you ever have a girlfriend named Pert?

Breck: Damn it. Which one was it? Kieralyn? Has to be Kieralyn.

Nikki: I promised not to tell, but there are other women in your life.

Breck: Damn. Eden. Did you get a hold of Eden? No. She wouldn’t ask that. Had to be Kieralyn.

Nikki: That’s my secret. And I’ll take your non answer as a yes.

Breck: What’s your next question.

Nikki: Well, I’ll do you the favor of skipping the one about your preferred shampoo. Let’s go next to how you feel about having your story written? How do you feel about such a large part of your life being out there, immortalized in print, for everyone to see?

Breck: I wish it weren’t.

Nikki: Oh come on. Give me more than that.

Breck: Fine. It doesn’t bother me like I thought it would. You did a nice job of staying true to the facts. And I’ll go a step farther. I don’t even mind that you spilled all the personal details. You showed me in a nice light.

Nikki: LOL. I’m actually quite glad you approve.

Breck: Sure you are. Now, I’ll give you one more question, and then I must get back to work.

Nikki: Works for me. This question too comes from someone else. What is your favorite weapon to use? Is it true stabbing is more personal?

Breck: Shit. (laughing) That one had to come from the dirty mind of Ava, because no way do I believe it refers to guns or knives.

Nikki: For what it’s worth, it wasn’t from Ava, but she does have some interesting thought processes.

Breck: Hmm. For what it’s worth, stabbing is very personal.

Nikki: lol. You know what I like about you, Breck? You’re funnier than you think you are and it crops up at unexpected moments.

Breck: The funny ones are the people I work with, but I did have a good time today. I’m glad I agreed to talk with you.

 

If you haven’t read Breck’s story, SCENT OF PERSUASION, it can be found here. He’s quite good at his job, and much funnier than he believes. 🙂

 

